How does scale_pos_weight affect probabilities?

i am using scale pos weight on an imbalanced dataset. I am trying to optimize the brier score since obtaining well calibrated probabilites is important to me. however i find that wuthout using calibration (e.g. isotonic) my uncalibrated calibration curve is not very well calibrated. i have read online that adding scale_pos_weight could be distorting my results… but why is this? what is the mathematical basis.

also when i plot the kde of my isotonic probabilities, it is not smooth… what could i be doing wrong?

1 Like

Setting scale_pos_weight gives greater weight to the positive class, which roughly has the same effect as oversampling the data points with the positive class. Try disabling scale_pos_weight and see if it gives you better calibrated results.

yes i disabled it and now my xgboost curve is more or less towards the reliability diagonal curve as you can see below. However i have an imbalanced problem where i only have 2% positive class therefore i thought using scale pos weight would be beneficial yet it is very important that i have well calibrated results. Wouldn’t disabling scale pos weight then not reflect the fact i have an imbalanced problem?

Screenshot 2020-09-01 at 9.17.03 AM

does increasing scale pos weight mean it increases the affect it has on the weights vector? therefore when we use the logit transform equation to calcaulte the probability a higher weight will decrease the probability…?